Product Reviews

12 Days of Mario Badescu: Day 2

Day 2 of 12 Days of Mario Badescu is here! And I would like to present to you, Mario Badescu’s Special Cleansing Lotion “O”. At the time of my large and impulsive Mario Badescu purchase, I was experiencing body breakouts in addition to my facial cystic acne and that is what prompted this purchase, as this is a toner strictly to be used on the body because of its harsh properties.

One of the things that I have noticed about Mario Badescu products is that they are not afraid to use “chemically” sounding ingredients which the all natural movement generally stays away from. Being a chemist myself, I walk this fine line between lusting after “all-natural” products but also knowing the effectiveness of a chemically derived molecule that can achieve results fast (and with little to no side effects). i-011278-special-cleansing-lotion-o-1-940

The first thing that I noticed about this product when opening it, was the substantial smell of isopropyl alcohol. I hate the smell of the stuff so this was already a tick against it in my book. Second, when I put it on my skin, it burned. Not terribly, it wasn’t something that I couldn’t handle for the sake of my skin, but it did burn!

The website states that the combination of clarifying ingredients is what makes this formulation so powerful but does not go into much detail after that. Most of the ingredients listed are anti-inflammatory agents which is great for a back that’s erupted in painful pimples!

However, in my own personal skin, I did not see as much improvement as I would have expected. Based on the burning sensation I felt, I would have expected more from this product. I guess my logic was, well this burns, so I’m basically burning all of the acne off of my skin! But that didn’t really happen. There was a slight reduction, but it took much longer than I would have liked and it just wasn’t enough to make this worth it. Also, its very difficult to use a toner on your back if you haven’t tried!

I hope this has helped in your future skincare decisions and I’ll see you tomorrow for another day of Mario Badescu!

Hana

One thought on “12 Days of Mario Badescu: Day 2

Leave a Reply

